The Harvest

I got the call on Friday, June 14th to be at the hospital in Portland at 6:30 in the morning to begin harvesting stem cells. The process involves a Red Cross Technician, an intricate machine called the Cobe Spectra, and me lying on a bed for most of six hours. The goal was to harvest 10 million stem cells. Saturday brought in 2.55 million.

??????????

The Cobe Spectra

Sunday was a carbon copy of Saturday, but brought in only 1.94 million cells. I was called back to the hospital Sunday evening for a shot of Plerixafor, a chemical to supercharge my stem cell productivity. Monday brought only 1.94 million, and after another Plerixafor shot, Tuesday brought 1.51. The good news is that they add up to, “Close Enough.”

Me connected to the Spectra

Me connected to the Spectra

The harvest season ended for me with a bag of platelets to be infused into one of those handy tubes hanging out of my chest. There must be something good in platelets because I felt much less exhausted as at the end of the previous days, or maybe it was just knowing this part of the process was over. I was discharged to go home in fragile condition and instructed to avoid activity that could lead to bleeding, internal or external. I wait now for the call to check into the hospital long term, probably sometime next week.

Special thanks again to my cousin, Abraham, for all the great help and support when Diane couldn’t be there.

8 comments on “The Harvest

  1. Don MacDonald says:

     OK let me know when your up to Vistors at the hospital I will come over and see ya.  YOU Look very  com and relax. MY prayers are with ya.   LIKE I say I dont have a problem of coming up at proadence will it be on NE 42nd  or in Beavertion I think it may be on NE 422nd in Portland .   OK talk to ya when you  can get in touch  see ya soon.    thank you for the up date.  DON

    ________________________________

  2. Jan Bortnem says:

    Hi Scott,
    Mark and I are thinking of you…lots! We are hoping and praying that you have confidence in your Drs., that you are as comfortable as you can be, and that you know you are in the arms of God throughout this entire adventure…….and I’m sure that the intraveinous Mt. Dew is probably one of the most beneficial parts of all your medical care!
    Love always,
    Jan and Mark (and family)

  3. Tom Roth says:

    You are one tough hombre Scott ! Cool technology. Glad you have the opportunity to try it !

  4. Pamela Campbell says:

    Thanks for all the updates. I look forward to more post about your journey.
    Pamela

Leave a Reply

