Busy Days, Life is Good

People ask how I am.  I tell them I am stable.

It’s good to be stable, and it’s good to be busy.

I’m thankful I am able to be busy.

That's me cutting access to bathroom plumbing

That’s me cutting access to bathroom plumbing

.

.

October’s days were packed.  Every weekend, most evenings, and even some week days were spent working at our vacant rental house.

Kitchen before

Kitchen before

New paint and floor

New paint and floor

.

.

As the tenants were moving out, we discovered a mysterious, spongy hump growing under the linoleum in the bathroom floor.

Laundry room floor under repair

Laundry room floor under repair

Done

Done

It turned out the water heater had begun leaking and the underlayment was mostly destroyed.  There was also some previous or ongoing damage in the laundry room floor.

Diane filling the first of what must have  been 300 holes in the walls

Diane filling the first of what must have been 300 holes in the walls

.

.

.

.

Once it began, the list of things that needed repair rolled out like a scroll, including things that, “now” was as-good-a-time-as-any to do.

.

.

Brandon & Emily in front of Southwestern University

Brandon & Emily at Southwestern University

.

.

.

.

.

We spent Thanksgiving at Brandon and Emily’s house in Georgetown, Texas. Brandon is teaching there.

.

We played some serious games

We played some serious board games

.

Robin and Aubrie joined us the day after.  I’m glad we got to spend that time together.  It felt like a summer break for us as we did most of our strolling around in shorts and sandals.

.

.

.

Emily, Brandon, Diane, Scott, Betty, Robin, AubrieThat's all of us.  Thanks for the picture, Robin

Emily, Brandon, Diane, Scott, Betty, Robin, Aubrie. That’s all of us. Thanks for the picture, Robin

2 comments on “Busy Days, Life is Good

  1. Don MacDonald says:

    HELLO Scott glad your doing ok .  NOTHING new out our way. Just same old same. We are getting the house ready for xmas. O ya Diane did run into an eye problem but she is doing much better now. I have gone into 16 th scale tanks for I can not build the ships for health related resons.    Ya belive it or not I am rebuilding my RC ten for the third time . We have a driver that runs at the track with one and he is good driver so I decided to run with him .Useing a set up I got  off of the RC ten talk board . So it could be intresting   .  OK  buddy take care keep us posted and thanks   DON

    ________________________________

    • scanfie says:

      Hi, Don: Thanks for the note. I’m glad Diane is doing better. I’m also glad to hear someone is still running an RC-10. I think I have one or two out in the RC Tomb; maybe one day I’ll get one out and try to run it.

Leave a Reply

