Stable is good

The wind almost blew the Christmas lights off our house, okay not really, I took this picture years ago.

It’s been a few months; I thought it might be time for an update. I recently had my 3 month cancer test and I found the message with results from my Oncologist on our voice mail today after work, “stable, the same as before.” That’s a message I can’t imaging getting tired of hearing.

I have had two MRI’s since my last update. The one in September caused some concern. The Neurologists office called me the same day I had the MRI saying the doctor needed to see me as soon as possible. When I saw him the next day, he came into the exam room and said, “I had to see you with my own eyes!” He explained that the MRI showed a small piece of what was left of my crushed vertebra poking quite sharply into my spine (the T8 vertebra had become a tumor from this cancer, and then it collapsed). He went on to express surprise that I was walking, that I didn’t have pain shooting down my legs, and/or tingling and numbness. He did some push – pull tests on my legs and said if any of those symptoms develop, or if I lose bladder control, to call him immediately. The MRI last week showed no notable change.

 

September MRI

I can feel that poking in my back, but it is not pain. It’s more like a distraction. It’s almost always there, but entire moments do pass when I’m not aware of it. I got the distinct impression that the doctor thought it was somewhat of a medical oddity. I’m going to thank you for holding me up in prayer, and I’m going to thank God for every walking, pain free day I get. I’ll thank him for all the other days too, but I’m pretty sure I like these better.

Thank you.

Scott

2 comments on “Stable is good

  1. Daphne says:

    Hi Scott; I just googled Plasma cytoma and multiple myeloma. Wow. Very scarey.How long have you had this? Arthur had prostate cancer also. He had the very aggressive kind. He elected to have his prostate removed. His PSA numbers have come up a little, we have it checked every 3 months. I’m so glad you got thru that bout of cancer. Now for you to get in full remission with this new one. I am praying and I’m going to have you put on a prayer chain. Your in my thots and prayers, daphne.

  2. scanfie says:

    Thanks, Daphne:

    I was diagnosed with the prostate cancer in October 2010, and had surgery in March, 2011.

    I had the Plasma Cytoma in July, 2011, which came out as a tumor in my back (T8) which became a crushed vertebra, but reacted very nicely to radiation treatments. The Multiple Myeloma is smoldering in my bone marrow (and so is called Smoldering Myeloma) until it develops and comes out.

    I currently get tested every three months for the Myeloma and every six months to see if the Prostate cancer might come back.

Leave a Reply

